Our first hike of this voyage was to a place called Kayaköy Village in Fethiye.
We started the morning with yoga, followed by a traditional Turkish breakfast of eggs, tomatoes, cucumber, bread, cheese, olives, honey, and jams.
Once breakfast was over we got ready to head out on the dingy to land and take a 45-minute drive to where we were going to hike.
Kayaköy is a village about 8km south of Fethiye. In ancient Greek is was known as Lebessos and Lebessus and later as Livissi. In ancient times it was a city of Lycia, and later Anatolian Greeks lived there until approximately 1922. Often referred to as ‘The ghost town’, it is now preserved as a museum village and consists of hundreds of rundown but still mostly standing Greek-style houses and churches which cover a small mountainside.
But, the views from the top of the village were stunning!
To think that not long ago this was a bustling village with schools, churches, markets and people going about their daily lives.
Now it serves as a museum and is a historical monument. The 500 or so houses that remain in the village as ruins are under the protection of the Turkish government, including the two Greek Orthodox Churches, which remain the most important sites of the ghost town. One of the churches is currently undergoing renovation.